Tuesday’s Tip of the Week: Hit More Fairways


One of the stats that I take pride in is how many fairways I hit per round. I hit about 70% fairways, which is definitely way above the average of most golfers. However, a fairway hit is more important than most people think. If I go and play one round hitting 70% of my fairways and then go out and hit 40% of my fairways the next day, I can almost guarantee you that the round where I hit more fairways is going to be a better score than the round where I hit less fairways. But just saying that you should hit more fairways doesn’t mean you will, you have to change something aout your game to improve the number of fairways you hit. To hit more fairways, I recommend to take less club off the tee. Bag the driver on a short par four, and hit a hybrid, or maybe even a 4 iron off the tee. You for sure don’t need driver off of any of the par 5’s since they are more than likely not reachable, so maybe think about going 4 iron, 4 iron, 8 iron into the green. If you are sitting here reading this thinking that you can’t afford to hit less than a driver off the tee, maybe you should question the tees you play. You shouldn’t have a long iron or more into most par 4’s, but if you do, think about moving up a tee. There’s really no downside to moving up a set of tees, you’ll be shooting better scores and having more fun. And moving up a tee will allow you to hit less club off the tee, resulting in more fairways hit.

-Julia